Purple Taisho Komon Kitsuke for my Brighton Artists Open Houses Visit

So this is a kitsuke I wore during May, to go round the Brighton Artists Open Houses (a wonderful yearly event!)

It features:

Purple and vermillion striped taisho omeshi komon

Grey and red (fukuro?) obi. From Michelle at Yield for Kimono. I’m assuming this is a very casual fukuro as its not sewn in half at one end, but I may be wrong Slightly dubious as to whether I should really have worn it with teh komono formality-wise but couldn’t resist the stripe overload.

Yellow and Brown bokashi obiage

Powder blue obijime

Purple Chirimen han eri

Tobacco brown boots

I unfortunately can’t remember if I was trying to do a taiko or a tsunodashi when I did my musubi, and looking at the photo I still can’t tell what I was aiming for…sigh…my musubi tying REALLY needs some work!

Oh and I finally found some decent wisteria to be photographed under…and didn’t publish the pics until May was over- doh!

2 thoughts on “Purple Taisho Komon Kitsuke for my Brighton Artists Open Houses Visit

    1. Ooh thank you!! I really like wearing a higher hemline as I think its so much less restrictive, and I also quite often see photos of younger kimono wearers in Japan wearing it like this- I wonder if comfort is more of a priority to modern kimono wearers!

Leave a Reply

