Easter Bunny Kitsuke

Ok so maybe ‘Easter Bunny’ is maybe a bit of stretch!

Non-kimono-wearing people seem to percieve the print of this yukata to be like a pyjama print, maybe cos it’s so cutesy. This is one of my favourite yukatas, so I’ll still be wearing it even if everyone else thinks I’m wearing nightwear…sigh….

I’m wearing my yukata dressed ‘up’ as a komon (and possibly not really carrying it off as its looking kind of crumpled and its a very yukata-y yukata). I don’t really like wearing yukata with just hanhaba and non of the fun accessories, especially if its not a casual festival type event I;m going to. Seeing as I have quite a few yukata and not many komons, I basically just treat all my yukata as komon.

It only took me about 15mins to get dressed this time! The obi is a tsuke obi, which helped! Thank you to IG member Brightbird who I bought the obi from. Really converted to easy obi now!

Also I obviously did it in a bit of a rush as I dressed my juban right over left in my haste, hence why I am wearing a (rather violently coloured) scarf.

Blue is definitely a colour I find very hard to coordinate (red, orange, pink, aqua, fuschia, brown and blue anyone?). Did I just go totally mad with this colour combination?- you decide!

7 thoughts on “Easter Bunny Kitsuke

  1. I’ve done the same thing before….crossing the juban wrong, but not realizing it till I had finished dressing! (So embarassing lol) I like your coordination, but since everything else is so colorful, I don’t think the brown shoes match the rest of the outfit. Personally, I’d add black boots and an orange obijime to match the scarf. πŸ™‚

  2. Yeah after I noticed my mistake, we were already late so I was like…hmm, how can I cover up my error, cos there is no way I am getting redressed!

    I like your idea of using black to done down the colour and using the orange obijime to tie the scarf in with the whole outfit! I really shy away from wearing anything black for some reason- I think I might be afraid of it! Also I have really limited footwear options atm so I think we might be seeing a lot of the brown boots! I do have some black shoes that would work with kimono and a sort of vermillion-orange obijime so maybe I’ll try out the coordinates you suggested!

  3. Hey, I recognize that obi! I’m so thrilled to see it being worn and enjoyed at last ❀ Normally I'm a stickler for more traditional ensembles, but I really dig your outfit here, it's so cool πŸ˜€

    I love to see different shades of the same colour being used with one another i.e. the pale blue against the darker blue and I especially like the orange scarf against the blue of the kimono – such a lovely bright contrast! It instantly makes me feel cheerful πŸ™‚ I would agree with yieldforkimono's suggestion of trying black boots – the brown just doesn't quite hit the mark. And I have to agree with both of you on the matter of tying the juban R over L and not realizing 'till you have the whole outfit on…'doh! I will steal your trick of covering it up with a scarf next time I do it, what a good idea πŸ˜‰

    1. Ooh yay, I didn’t make the connection when I followed your blog that it was you that I bought the obi from! Nice to meet you! πŸ˜€

      After buying the brown boots, I think they are sooo convenient, I’m just looking for an excuse to get another pair- this time in black I hope! Love an excuse to go to thrift shops!

      1. Yes, it was me all along, mwahaha! It’s so very nice to meet you too πŸ™‚

        Nice zori seem so tricky to come by so I’m always on the lookout for alternate shoes to wear with kimono too; I’d love to find a cute little pair of ankle boots, something fairly plain but a bit girls and not too clunky ^-^ Charity shops are brilliant for finding little kitsuke goodies though; scarves for obiage, brooches for obidome, handbags – I always think you’re only limited by your imagination πŸ˜€

      2. Yes I would love to find some more casual-end zori that fit! I only have one pair of zori and they are formal. I have an informal pair which don’t fit too….I mostly tend to wear western shoes because, although I love the look of a nice zori and tabi, it doesn’t work when wearing at kimono at non-standard lengths. Plus I have more choice when it comes to western shoes.

        I have got some lovely scarves from charity shops that I use for obiage.

        I must experiment with obidome- I have yet to wear one, apart from a kanzashi brooch I made once!

        Maybe I can do a ‘secondhand shop kitsuke’ challenge!

      3. I agree it seems even more difficult to find less formal zori than the formal type, which seems ridiculous! My other bugbear is damage; several times I’ve found a pair I liked, in a good size and for a reasonable price but the straps are all cracked and split, waah ;-;

        A second-hand shop kistuke challenge is an absolutely brilliant idea! You should give it a whirl on the IG forums, I bet loads of people would love the idea πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

