Sakura/Cherry Blossom Houmongi and Abstract Snowflakes Obi Kitsuke

I decided to wear this outfit because I’d wanted to wear the sakura houmongi for the Japan Club Open Day, and then changed my mind about it at the last minute!

I’m wearing:

Synthetic purple sakura motif houmongi

Abstract snowflakes obi

White-pink fade obiage

yellow obijime

I think this is my most successful use of padding so far. I used a long rolled up towel, rolled very narrowly. I felt I had managed to get the tubular look right. I think my ohashori was a little large however. This colour coordination made me VERY happy! 😀

Both the obi I used during this kitsuke session are super small (photos of the second ensemble to follow) My taiko knots were not very successful as I was having to do every cheat in the book to get enough length out of the super short obis. There wasn’t even enough for the tesake to feed through the drum at the end. I thought I’d done a cunning concertina of it sitting to the side of the drum, but in fact it got caught up when I twisted the knot round to the back and you couldn’t see it at all 😦

Photo by the awesome Rob Watkins: www.flickr.com/photos/robnwatkins/

One thought on “Sakura/Cherry Blossom Houmongi and Abstract Snowflakes Obi Kitsuke

Leave a Reply

