Kitsuke for The Fishing Quarter Gallery Private View

This not-especially-well-planned-out kitsuke turned out really nicely! (well coordination-wise anyway! I think the niju-taiko leaves a lot to be desired). I think the motif is horribly un-seasonal (cherry blossom in winter anyone?) but at the moment I’m forced to choose between inappropriate place/occasion and season!

I’m wearing  violet synthetic houmongi with sakura motif, silver, gold and orange fukuro obi in a (crap) niju taiko, pink patterned shibori obiage and a vermillion obijime. I’m also wearing a kanzashi I made that I liked so much I didn’t want to sell it!

This was worn for my private view at Brighton Fishing Quarter Gallery. The exhibition, which includes my kanzashi, as well as a host of other talented Brighton makers runs until the 20th December.

Leave a Reply

